We've got news for you.

Register on Sunday Times at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Wait - what! Kellogg’s is baaaaad for vegans?


Wait - what! Kellogg’s is baaaaad for vegans?

Many cereals are fortified with vitamin D, which is made from animal by-products

Katie Morley

Popular breakfast cereals including Rice Krispies, Kellogg’s cornflakes and Cheerios contain vitamin D which is made from sheep’s wool grease, it has emerged, meaning they are unsuitable for vegans.
In the UK, the nation’s 550,000 vegans are horrified that they may have been eating vitamin D-fortified cereals, which contain no ingredients which are obviously derived from animals.
They are marked with a “suitable for vegetarians” logo, with no explicit warning that they are unsuitable for vegans.Confusingly, other cereals which are suitable for vegans such as Nestle’s Shredded Wheat, also carry a Vegetarian logo and not a Vegan logo in the UK.
Many cereals are fortified with vitamin D to improve their nutritional value, as it helps keep bones, teeth and muscles healthy.
Around a quarter of people in the UK have low levels of vitamin D.To establish whether cereals are vegan-friendly, in many cases consumers would need to check online or call customer services.
In response to the finding, the Vegan Society has called for clearer labeling of cereals containing vitamin D3, which is made from oils from sheep’s wool.
A spokesperson at the Vegan Society said: “Many cereals are fortified with either vitamin D3 from animal fat or vitamin D2, which is an animal-free option. Unfortunately, without contacting the manufacturer, consumers may not know which has been used.
“This presents issues for vegans, who make every effort to avoid animal products. We urge manufacturers to opt for vegan sources of vitamin D, and to label the ingredient clearly. Consumers can also look out for products carrying the Vegan trademark that indicate that the product meets The Vegan Society’s standards.”It comes as Kellogg’s has launched a new range of vegan cereals under a new brand called W.K. Kellogg, marking a significant departure from its traditional red font logo.
Its new range of healthy, low-sugar and vegan granolas are designed to compete with upmarket cereal brands.
A Kellogg’s spokesperson said: “Kellogg’s provides a choice of cereals, including the WK Kellogg range which is suitable for vegans. This is labelled on packs.”
– © The Daily Telegraph

This article is reserved for Sunday Times Daily subscribers.
A subscription gives you full digital access to all Sunday Times Daily content.

Sunday Times Daily

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems?
Email helpdesk@timeslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00.

You have reached the end of the Edition.