Blasts from the past: 1937 marks SA’s only NZ series win


Blasts from the past: 1937 marks SA’s only NZ series win

Sports reporter

Today in SA sports history: September 25

1937 — Centre Louis Brabow scores two tries as the Springboks rip through the Kiwis 17-6 to win the deciding third Test at Eden Park in Auckland to achieve their only series victory in New Zealand. SA scored five tries in all, with wingers Freddy Turner and DO Williams and eighthman Ferdie Bergh also dotting down. Fullback Gerry Brand managed one conversion. New Zealand replied with two penalties by flyhalf David Trevathan. The hosts won the first Test with the visitors taking the second. SA has lost all four subsequent tours to New Zealand. Back then, that was only the third series between the teams, and the previous two – in New Zealand in 1921 and in SA in 1928 – had ended drawn. 

1981 — Just 30 spectators watch the Springboks thump the US 38-7 at the Owl Creek polo field in Glenville, New York. The visitors scored eight tries in all, with right winger Ray Mordt bagging a hat trick and Gerrie Germishuys on the left wing dotting down twice. That was the last time the Boks played a match outside SA for 11 years...

This article is reserved for Sunday Times Daily subscribers.
A subscription gives you full digital access to all Sunday Times Daily content.

Sunday Times Daily

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems?
Email or call 0860 52 52 00.

You have reached the end of the Edition.

Previous Article