Blasts from the past: India spoil SA’s first-ever ODI series


Blasts from the past: India spoil SA’s first-ever ODI series

Sports reporter

Today in SA sports history: November 12
1991 — SA’s cricketers learn how tough it is back in international competition as they lose their first-ever ODI series. India won the second contest of the three-match series by 38 runs. SA skipper Clive Rice won the toss in Gwalior and put India in to bat first. The hosts scored 223/6 in their 45 overs with openers Kris Srikkanth and Navjot Sidhu making 68 and 61 respectively, and Sanjay Manjrekar making an unbeaten 52. Kepler Wessels (71) and Mandy Yachad (31) kept SA in the game, but in the end the visitors were restricted to 185/8 in their 45 overs.
1995 — The Springboks play Italy for the first time, with the world champions emerging victorious 40-21 in Rome. Captain Francois Pienaar, making a rare appearance at eighthman, scored his third and final try for SA.
2005 — Sibusiso Zuma and Siyabonga Nomvete score goals, but Bafana Bafana still lose their Nelson Mandela Challenge soccer match to Senegal 2-3 in Port Elizabeth. Souleymane Camara, Diomansy Camara and Momar Ndiaye netted for the visitors.
2011 — Katlego “Killer” Mphela equalises in the 53rd minute to give Bafana Bafana a 1-1 draw against Cote d’Ivoire in their Nelson Mandela challenge match in Port Elizabeth.
2016 — Bafana Bafana score two first-half goals to beat Senegal 2-1 in a World Cup qualifying match at the Peter Mokaba stadium in Polokwane. Captain Thulani Hlatshwayo converted a penalty and Thulani Serero scored after a build-up that included touches from Mpho Makola and Keagan Dolly.

This article is reserved for Sunday Times Daily subscribers.
A subscription gives you full digital access to all Sunday Times Daily content.

Sunday Times Daily

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems?
Email or call 0860 52 52 00.

You have reached the end of the Edition.

Previous Article