We've got news for you.

Register on Sunday Times at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Everything you need to know about the Zim elections ...


Everything you need to know about the Zim elections ...

... including how Robert Mugabe's former praise singer is involved

Ray Ndlovu

For the first time in 37 years, Zimbabweans will on Monday vote in an election that does not feature long-time ruler Robert Mugabe, who was finally ousted last year.
Until now, Mugabe dominated every election in the country. His absence and that of his closest lieutenants, purged by Zanu-PF last November, has meant a rise of new candidates vying for office in the elections.
Times Select below explains the salient features of the July 30 election, which include some of the candidates, how voting will be done and when the results of hotly contested presidential race are expected to be released.

The election is often referred to as “harmonised election” as voters will at the same time choose a candidate for president, parliament and local government on voting day.
The president of Zimbabwe is elected using a two-round system. This system is also known as run-off voting and is a voting method used to elect a single winner, where the voter casts a single vote for their chosen candidate. If no candidate receives the required number of votes, then those candidates having less than a certain proportion of the votes, or all but the two candidates receiving the most votes are eliminated, and a second round of voting is held.
The results of the presidential election, according to the Electoral Act, must be released within five days of voting. The winner of the presidential election will be announced on August 4 by the chairperson of the electoral commission, Priscilla Chigumba.
All the 23 presidential candidates taking part in the July 30 election are first-time contestants in a presidential election.
Only four women are contesting for president. These are Joice Mujuru of the People’s Rainbow Coalition; Thokozani Khuphe of the MDC-T; Melbah Dzapasi of #1980 Freedom Movement Zimbabwe; and Violet Mariyacha of United Democratic Movement.
One of the contestants for the presidency, Bryn Mteki, is a musician and was once Mugabe's praise singer.
Nkosana Moyo, president of the Alliance for People’s Agenda, was a former cabinet minister in Mugabe’s  government. He sent a fax to his former boss, Mugabe, informing him of his resignation in 2001. Mugabe was to later call him a “coward” for resigning via a letter and failing to tell him to his face.
The incumbent, President Emmerson Mnangagwa, is refered to as “ED” by his supporters, a play on his initials of his two names “Emmerson Dambudzo”. More widely, Mnangagwa is known in political circles as the “Crocodile”.
MDC Alliance leader Nelson Chamisa is nicknamed “Wamba dia Wamba” by the party’s youth. He is named after the commander of the opposition, Rally for Congolese Democracy, who is also a prominent academic and theorist in the Democratic Republic of Congo.
There are 210 seats available for the House of Assembly, being contested by various political parties and independent candidates.
55 political parties are registered to take part in the election, although there are 133 political parties according to figures from the Zimbabwe electoral commission.
The final tally of registered voters is 5.6 million according to the electoral commission.
The MDC Alliance is the largest opposition coalition and is made up of seven political parties. These are the MDC-T lead by Nelson Chamisa; the MDC led by Welshman Ncube; People’s Democratic Party led by Tendai Biti; Transform Zimbabwe led by Jacob Ngarivhume; Zimbabwe People First led by Agrippa Mutambara; Zanu-Ndonga led by Denford Musayarira; and Multi-Racial Democratic Christian Party led by Mathias Guchutu.

This article is reserved for Sunday Times Daily subscribers.
A subscription gives you full digital access to all Sunday Times Daily content.

Sunday Times Daily

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems?
Email helpdesk@timeslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00.

Next Article

Previous Article