×

We've got news for you.

Register on Sunday Times at no cost to receive newsletters, read exclusive articles & more.
Register now

Smart work: How to turn 15 days of leave into 44

Lifestyle

Smart work: How to turn 15 days of leave into 44

Take off a few choice days around public holidays

Sanet Oberholzer


The new year is in full swing, the bliss of December braais and days on the beach long forgotten. Luckily, just as the days seem to be getting too long, Thursday is Human Rights Day, the first official public holiday in 2019.
If you haven’t yet put in your leave for the year, take a minute to plan the best combination of leave days coupled with public holidays. When added to weekends, you may find yourself scoring 44 days out of the office for a total of 15 annual leave days. Grab your calendar – it’s not cheating the system if it’s all in black and white.
Human Rights Day (March 21)
Take off: Friday March 22.
Days off: Four.
Easter Weekend (April 19-22)
Take off: Thursday April 18 and Tuesday April 23. Days off: Six.
Workers’ Day (May 1)
Take off: Thursday May 2 and Friday May 3.
Days off: Five.
Youth Day (June 16, observed on June 17)
Take off: Thursday June 13 and Friday June 14.
Days off: Five.
Women’s Day (August 9)
Take off: Monday August 12.
Days off: Four.
Heritage Day (September 24)
Take off: Monday September 23.
Days off: Four.
Day of Reconciliation (December 16)
Take off: Tuesday December 17.
Days off: Four.
Christmas (December 25, 26)
Take off: December 23, 24, 27, 30, 31.
Days off: 12.
Keep in mind:
If you keep more leave days for December you can get a total of 19 days off for nine days of leave by taking off December 17-20, 23-24, 27 and 30-31.
Election Day is on Tuesday, May 8. If you combine this with Workers’ Day and take leave on May 2, 3, 6 and 7 you will get eight days off work.

This article is reserved for Sunday Times Daily subscribers.
A subscription gives you full digital access to all Sunday Times Daily content.

Sunday Times Daily

Already subscribed? Simply sign in below.

Questions or problems?
Email helpdesk@timeslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00.