Celebrity book clubs have their place, but spare me Dick Cheney

Ideas

BOOK TALK

Celebrity book clubs have their place, but spare me Dick Cheney

There are many out there, so follow the ones that grab you or subscribe to all of them for tips

Sunday Times Book Editor

Oh, sweet heaven, help me.

That is how I felt after another recommendation from Oprah Winfrey. Her latest book club pick is The Sweetness of Water by Nathan Harris. It is a “powerful American debut set during the Civil War and portraying life after slavery in the vein of Washington Black, The Underground Railroad and Days Without End”.

On Instagram she describes it further as “set in the fictional town of ‘old ox’ Georgia at the end of the Civil War where we meet Prentiss and Landry, two brothers who have only known life as enslaved people. As they walk off the plantation where they’ve watched their mother be sold off, they now face a whole new set of problems. What will freedom look like? Where do you go? Who can you trust? This is Nathan’s debut novel and I’m thrilled to introduce him to you because you’re going to grow to love him and his work.”..

This article is free to read if you register or sign in.

Sunday Times Daily

If you have already registered or subscribed, please sign in to continue.

Questions or problems?
Email helpdesk@timeslive.co.za or call 0860 52 52 00.

Next Article